Top News

Hurricanes make history

HALIFAX – It was a history-making weekend for the Holland Hurricanes’ soccer teams.

The Holland Hurricanes’ men’s and women’s soccer teams won their respective Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA) championships on Sunday.

They did something that has never been accomplished before – the men’s and women’s squads won their respective Atlantic Collegiate Athletic Association (ACAA) conference championships in the same year.


The women’s Hurricanes, who won conference titles in 2008, 2010, 2013 and 2016, will represent the ACAA at the Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) national women’s soccer championship in Montreal, Que.

The Holland College men will represent the ACAA at the CCAA men’s nationals in Fort McMurray, Alta.

The dates for both nationals are Nov. 7 to 12.


The Holland College women, who posted a 4-0 semifinal win over the UNBSJ Seawolves on Saturday, met the Mount Saint Vincent University Mystics in the final for the sixth straight time.

Ninety minutes would solve nothing, and two 15-minute overtime periods followed regulation time.

Darby Myers, who was set up by her sister Lauren Myers, sneaked a shot off the post to give the Hurricanes a 1-0 lead in the 93rd minute. No other goals were scored in overtime, giving the Hurricanes their fourth ACAA championship in team history.

Nicole McInnis was the winning keeper. McInnis played in all league games for Holland College, allowing just four goals all season while earning eight shutouts.

“It’s a special group of kids that we have here this year,” shared Holland College women’s head coach Kris McKinnon. “They’ve gone to the wall for us, and it’s nice to see them rewarded.”


The Holland College men, who defeated Mount Saint Vincent University 3-1 in the semifinals on Saturday, defeated the University King’s College Blue Devils 3-0 in the final.

The game was scoreless until Ibra Sanoh scored on a penalty kick in the 64th minute to give the Hurricanes a 1-0 lead.

“We were creating a few chances going forward, so we thought it would be just a matter of time before we broke them down and got one,” expressed Hurricanes head coach Jonathan Vos. “We talked about having a target on us (being the No. 1 and two-time defending champions).

“I always say it’s harder to stay on top than to get to the top.”

John Chandler scored in the 76th minute off a nice setup from Sanoh to give the Hurricanes a 2-0 lead. Theo Ngezahayo closed out the game’s scoring in the 90th minute.

The Hurricanes’ 2016 conference championship is their sixth in team history. They also won in 2009, 2011, 2012, 2014 and 2015.

Logan Doiron earned the shutout for Holland College.

Recent Stories