Top News

Stanhope Open set for this weekend

The Stanhope Open will take place this weekend at the Stanhope Golf and Country Club.
The Stanhope Open will take place this weekend at the Stanhope Golf and Country Club. - Jason Malloy

A field of close to 150 golfers will tee off at the Tim Horton’s Stanhope Open Saturday and Sunday.
Twenty-seven PGA professionals from across the Maritimes will compete for a purse of $11,000.  Defending champ Brian Affleck of Antigonish, N.S., will defend his title after shooting a course record 62 last year. Other past champs include Neal Ryan, Gordie Smith, Kevin Dugas, Trevor Giggey and Tim McCullum.
The amateur field is set to see one of the strongest fields ever. Defending open amateur champ Stephen Anderson, a Morell native, is competing this weekend before heading to the Canadian amateur in Nova Scotia next week.
The women’s competition will be extremely close as players such as Fiona Thompson, Stanhope’s own Chrissie MacLauchlan, Sherri White and Melissa Castle are competing.
Finally, on the senior’s side a number of low-handicap players will be trying to capture the senior championship. Jeff Cooke of Belvedere, Marty Koughan and Randy Bernard of Mill River and Gerry Melanson of Covered Bridge are early favourites.
The tournament kicks off on Friday with the corporate pro am followed by the 36-hole competition on Saturday and Sunday.


Saturday’s draw for the opening round of the Tim Hortons Stanhope Open.

Morning draw

No. 1 tee

7:30 a.m. – L. Paquet (Stan), A. Morrison (Stan), D. Herring (And).

Stanhope’s own Chrissie MacLauchlan will play at this weekend's Stanhope Open.
Stanhope’s own Chrissie MacLauchlan will play at this weekend's Stanhope Open.

7:38 a.m. – C. McQuaid (Stan), A. Blanchard (Blue).

7:46 a.m. – R. Larade (Penn), C. Koughan.

7:54 a.m. – B. Chaisson Pro (LePort), T. Gayton Pro (Penn), R. Shaw (Stan).

8:02 a.m. – K. Dugas Pro (Mont), B. MacPhail Pro (Stan), J. Wood (Mon).

8:10 a.m. – N. Ryan Pro (Brun), D. DeBay Pro (Fox H), J. Campbell (Mill).

8:18 a.m. – N. Harvey Pro (Maq), T. Keddy Pro (Maple), T. Yorke (GG).

8:26 a.m. – T. Carr Pro (Bel), J. Landine Pro (Ash), N. Frid.


8:42 a.m. – Shannon Grinton Pro (Stan), S. Quinn (NJ), C. King (Brud).

8:50 a.m. – C. Moore (Stan), T. Hayes (Stan), K. Horne (Penn).

8:58 a.m. – N. Lush (Penn), R. Helmkay (GranV), D. Stuart (Stan).

9:06 a.m. – S. Larsen (Stan), T. Shive (Penn), C. Reeves (Belf).

No. 10 tee

7:30 a.m. – T. Giggey Pro (Fox M), A. Jewers Pro (GolfTown).

7:38 a.m. – T. Bishop Pro (Dormie), R. Younker (Stan), D. DeAdder Pro (Mon).

7:46 a.m. – J. Bishop Pro (Dormie), A. Connors Pro (Kings), K. Crozier (Stan).

7:54 a.m. – B. Affleck Pro (Anti), T. McCullum Pro (TaylorMade), B.J. Affleck (Stan).

8:02 a.m. – P. DeCoste Pro (Oak), N. Peters Pro (Rust), T McGowan (Brud).

8:10 a.m. – G. Smith Pro (Ash), S. Joyce Pro (PEIGA), Shane Grinton (Stan).

8:18 a.m. – A. Egan Pro (Maq), A. Wigg Pro (Penn), S. Anderson (GG).

8:26 a.m. – S. Toombs Pro (PGA), J. Ward Pro (Kings), C. Ellis (Palms).

8:34 a.m. – Starter.

8:42 a.m. – L. Jackson (Stan), L. Allen (Hali), T. Moore (Penn).

8:50 a.m. – C. Hawes (Bel), J. Cassidy (Mon), S. Cormier (Bel).

8:58 a.m. – T. Olney (And), R, Ansems (Penn), P. Gorveatt (Stan).

Afternoon draw

No. 1 tee

Noon – C. Langille (Penn), D, Gallant (And), L. MacDonald (Stan).

12:08 p.m. – K. Arsenault (Stan), D. Verge (Penn), J. West (And).

12:16 p.m. – G. MacGuigan (Stan), J. MacKay (Fox), K. Watts (Stan).

12:24 p.m. – T. Phillips (Ham), R. Gallant (Stan), K. Thompson (Stan).

12:32 p.m. – H. Neuendorf (Stan), E. Stickland (Rust).

12:40 p.m. – Starter.

12:48 p.m. – R. Livingston (Stan), G. Burge (Stan), D. Wallace (Penn).

12:56 p.m. – G. Campbell (GolfC), H. Sears (Stan).

1:04 p.m. – C. Forrester (And), C. MacQuarrie (Fred), J. Stickland (Rust).

1:12 p.m. – S. MacDonald (Bel), B. McIlwaine (Bel), S. White (Bel).

1:20 p.m. – C. MacLaughlin (Stan), A. Dover (Stan), C. Evans (West).

1:28 p.m. – F. Thompson (Count), M. Castle (Bel), P. Buote (Mill).

No. 10 tee

Noon – S. Lacey (Stan), B. Desjardains (Stan), N. Platt (Avon).

12:08 p.m. – R. Bernard (Mill), M. Affleck (Stan), J. Lawley (Stan).

12:16 p.m. – M. Koughan (Mill), D. Craig (Stan), G. Moore (Bel).

12:24 p.m. – T. Perry (Mill), T. Hashimoto (Bel), G. Melanson (Cov).

12:32 p.m. – J. Cook (Bel), S. Purdy (Bel), S. Stead(Avon).

12:40 p.m. – Starter.

12:48 p.m. – A. Affleck (Ant), M. Misener (Stan), R. Stuart (Stan).

12:56 p.m. – L. Adams (And), P. Bernard (Stan), G MacInnis (Stan).

1:04 p.m. – S. MacGillvary (Stan), O. Morrison (Bel), T. Mayne (And).

1:12 p.m. – B. Bower (Penn), J. Davidson (NSPP), P. MacLeod (Stan).

1:20 p.m. – S. Marinelli (Stan), C. MacPherson (Hali), K. Powell (Penn).

1:28 p.m. – H. Bell (Conn), R. Whitty (Avon), K. MacLeod (Stan).

1:36 p.m. – L. Phillips (Stan), D. Bell (Conn), J. Wilcox (Stan).

1:44 p.m. – D. Horne (Penn), R. Gogan (Amh), J. MacKinnin (Stan).

On a scale of 1-10, how likely are you to recommend the Journal Pioneer?

Recent Stories