Top News

Pro Stock Tour begins Saturday with Lucas Oil 150 at Petty International Raceway

Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour
Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour - Contributed

Nine Islanders are expected to run the first race of the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour’s 19th season Saturday in River Glade, N.B.
The Lucas Oil 150 will take place at Petty International Raceway, near Moncton, with about 30 teams from across Atlantic Canada expected to enter. Atlantic Tiltload heat races, which will set the field, are slated to get underway at 4 p.m.
Islanders expected to compete are Jonathan Hicken, Kent Vincent, Terry Dougay, Darren MacKinnon, Greg Proude, Robbie MacEwen, Nevin Scott, Chris Hughes and Dylan Gosbee.
The field is also expected to include the reigning series champion Cole Butcher and three-time series champ Shawn Turple.
Gosbee was the highest-finishing Islander on the tour last season. He finished fifth, followed by MacKinnon (sixth), Hicken (seventh), Vincent (eighth), Proude (14th), Dougay (16th), Allison McKinnon (18th), MacEwen (19th), Hughes (22nd), Scott (25th), Troy Burke (36th) and Marc LeClair (45th).
The field will also include a contingent of New Brunswick drivers looking to win in their home province. It includes Sarah McKay of Quispamsis, who will run the circuit full time this season, as well as the 2012 rookie of the year Steve Halpin, who will race the series part time. The expected entry list also includes Craig Ward, Ashton Tucker, Andrew Rodgers and Cory Hall. Ryan Messer will make his series debut Saturday.
Russell Smith Jr., an experienced late model driver from of Lakeside, N.S., will begin his first full-time season on the tour Saturday.
Saturday’s race is the first of the 12 round series that will visit four Maritime tracks this year. Oyster Bed Speedway will host races on Saturday, June 29, and Saturday, Aug. 3. Both races begin at 6 p.m.
Admission (cash only) for Saturday’s race is $30 for adults, $10 for youth between the ages of eight and 18 years old) while pit admission is $35. Children seven and under are admitted for free.

Entry list


A look at the expected entry list as of Tuesday for the Lucas Oil 150 Saturday in River Glade, N.B. The list is subject to change without notice.

Car number     Driver                           Hometown

02                    Craig Ward                     Riverview, N.B.

03                  Stephen Halpin                Saint John, N.B.

08                  Nicholas Naugle               Dartmouth, NS

0                    Shawn Turple                   Enfield, N.S.

1                   Ryan Messer                    Harvey, N.B.

2                   Ashton Tucker                  Miramichi, N.B.

5                   Jonathan Hicken              Brudenell

8                   Kent Vincent                    Crapaud

14                Terry Dougay                    Albany

18                Darren MacKinnon          Charlottetown

21                Shawn Pierce                  Bridgewater, N.S.

29                Greg Proude                   Springvale

32                Sarah McKay                  Quispamsis, N.B.

40                Robbie MacEwen           Charlottetown

42                Cory Hall                        Jolicure, N.B.

42                Andrew Rodgers            Smithtown, N.B.

44                Russell Smith Jr.            Lakeside, N.S.

48               Waylon Farrell                Conception Bay South, N.L.

49              Harry Ross White           Kennetcook, N.S.

53              Cole Butcher                   Porter’s Lake, N.S.

54              Jarrett Butcher                Porter’s Lake, N.S.

67              Dylan Blenkhorn             Truro, N.S.

81              Nevin Scott                     Marshfield

82              Chris Hughes                 Brackley Beach

91              Dylan Gosbee                Cornwall

99              Craig Slaunwhite           Terence Bay, N.S.

Recent Stories