Top News

Meet your Summerside mayor and council candidates

. - Contributed

SUMMERSIDE – The deadline has come and gone, which means the official list of candidate names are out for Summerside’s upcoming municipal election.

Prospective mayors and councillors had until 2 p.m. Friday to submit their paperwork to Elections P.E.I. in order to be on the ballot.

As of 3 p.m. the list of candidates at showed three people running for mayor and 22 people vying for eight council seats.

Regardless of the outcome of the election, Summerside is guaranteed to have a new mayor and at least two new councillors.

Current Mayor Bill Martin, who is finishing his first term as mayor, has announced he will not run again.

Former deputy mayor and long-time councillor Brent Gallant is one of the contenders to replace Martin, which means his Ward 4: Clifton – Market seat is up for grabs to someone new.

Current Deputy Mayor Frank Costa, Ward 2: St. Eleanor's - Slemon Park, announced earlier this year that he would not be seeking a third term, so his ward will also have a new representative.

Coun. Brian McFeely was also re-elected in Ward 7: Green’s Shore – Three Oaks, as no one put their name forward to run against him.


Brent Gallant

Nancy Beth Guptill

Basil Stewart

Ward 1: St. Eleanors – Bayview

Paul Kelly

Bruce MacDougall *

War 2: St. Eleanors – Slemon Park

Justin Doiron

Garnet Gibson

Katharina Mueller

Ward 3: Summerside – North

Doreen Percy

Barb Ramsay

Gordie Whitlock *

Ward 4: Clifton – Market

Robbie Burt

David Griffin

Peter Holman

Murray Morison

Cory Snow

Ward 5: Hillcrest – Platte River

Greg Campbell *

Barb Gallant

Jim Steele

Ward 6: Centre East – Downtown

Norma McColeman *

Glenna Lohnes

Joe Peters

Ward 7: Green’s Shore – Three Oaks

Brian McFeely – * Elected by acclamation

Ward 8: Wilmot

Tyler DesRoches *

Carrie Adams

NOTE: An asterisk indicates an incumbent candidate

Recent Stories