Top News

UPDATE: David Gordon is Alberton’s next mayor

David Gordon running for mayor of Alberton.
David Gordon wins Alberton's mayoral race. - Eric McCarthy

Incumbent Murphy finishes third

ALBERTON — Mayor-elect David Gordon will have four returning councillors around the table when Alberton’s new municipal council takes office in December.

Gordon, who captured 56 per cent of the votes in the three-person mayoral race, made his first venture into municipal politics a successful one.

He captured 276 votes to unseat Rosetta Tremblay who was hoping to move up from a council seat, and incumbent mayor Michael Murphy who was seeking a fourth term.

Tremblay got 143 votes and Murphy was the choice of 72 voters.

Returning to council are Kelly O’Meara Williams, who led all candidates with 358 votes, Blair Duggan, 353; David Cahill, 343; and Connie Bernard, 317.

Returning to council after being off council for a term is Claudia Gallant who received 343 votes. New to council and polling 295 votes, is Donald Bernard. Incumbent councillor Alan Curtis did not win re-election. He received 232 votes.

Of the more than 830 eligible voters, 491 cast ballots.

Recent Stories