Top News

Music P.E.I. Week announces 16th annual award winners

Catherine MacLellan
Catherine MacLellan

The East Pointers lead the way with four awards during the Music P.E.I. Awards Party

The Music P.E.I. Awards were handed out Sunday afternoon at the Awards Party at the Rodd Charlottetown Hotel.

The East Pointers led the way with four awards including Touring Artist of the Year, Song of the Year, Roots Contemporary and Group Recording awards.

They were followed by Catherine MacLellan, Liam Corcoran and Alicia Toner who each won two. Toner’s debut recording also snagged her the coveted SOCAN Songwriter of the Year.

The duo of Denis Ellsworth and Kinley Dowling won the Holland College/Lloyd Doyle New Artist of the Year Award and with it received a $1,000 cash award in Doyle’s memory. He was a co-founder of Music P.E.I. and an artist manager who helped countless P.E.I. artists over the years. He died in 2017.

Credit Union Music P.E.I. Week 2018 will wrap up Sunday night at Florence Simmons Performance Hall with the Festival Finale show featuring some of the top nominees of the Music P.E.I. Awards, some of who also happen to be winners. They include Dylan Menzie, Ashley Condon, Alicia Toner, Catherine MacLellan and Liam Corcoran. Showtime is 7:30 p.m.

The show will cap off five days of shows and events, celebrating the musical talent of P.E.I.

Here’s a list of the 2018 Music P.E.I. winners:

- Album of the Year, Catherine MacLellan - "If It's Alright With You – The Songs of Gene MacLellan"

- Country Recording of the Year, Marcella Richard, "Marcella Richard Sings Roy MacCaull"

- Entertainer of the Year, Dylan Menzie

- Female Solo Recording of the Year, Catherine MacLellan, "If It's Alright With You - The Songs of Gene MacLellan"

- Group Recording of the Year, The East Pointers, “What We Leave Behind”

- New Artist of the Year, Dennis Ellsworth & Kinley Dowling,  “Everyone Needs To Chill Out”

- Male Solo Recording of the Year, Liam Corcoran, “Nevahland”

- Pop Recording of the Year, Liam Corcoran,"Nevahland"

- Roots Contemporary Recording of the Year The East Pointers – “What We Leave Behind”

- SOCAN Songwriter of the Year, Alicia Toner, “Back to Fine”

- Song of the Year, The East Pointers, "Two Weeks"

- Touring Artist of the Year, “The East Pointers”

- Urban Recording of the Year Amanda Jackson Band, "Fire in the Blue"

- Video of the Year, Alicia Toner, "I Learned the Hard Way"

Industry and Board Award winners:

- Community Contributor of the Year, Dino Dunsford

- Educator of the year, Natalie Williams Calhoun

- Event of the Year P.E.I. Mutual Festival of Small Halls

- Industry Person of the Year, Kate Gracey-Stewart

- Live Music Production Professional of the Year, Phillip MacLellan

- Lifetime Achievement, Roy MacCaull

- Producer of the Year, Jon Matthews

- Rooted to the Island, Tara MacLean.

Recent Stories