Three banners hung to recognize Maritime hockey champions

Published on September 2, 2014

SUMMERSIDE – Three Summerside hockey teams that won Maritime championships in the 1940s were recently honoured at Credit Union Place.

Championship banners for the Kinsmen juveniles of 1945-46 and Kinsmen midgets of 1946-47 and 1949-50 were unveiled at Eastlink Arena before approximately 150 spectators.

All three titles were won in Nova Scotia, with the juveniles and 1946-47 midgets emerging victorious in Sydney while the 1949-50 midgets claimed the title in Stellarton.

Relatives of team members and a player with one of the teams had the honour of raising the championship banners.


Leading role

The newly-formed Kinsmen Club of Summerside took a leading role in organized hockey in the 1940s. The Kinsmen Club sponsored bantam, midget and juvenile teams. They played at the former Crystal Rink on Court Street up until its demise in 1950.

The open air Kinsmen Rink was then established off Granville and Carvell Streets. This was the town’s only rink until Raceway Stadium, which later became Cahill Stadium, opened on Notre Dame Street in 1953. Steele Arena was later added to the Summerside Recreation Centre complex that housed Cahill Stadium.


The teams

The Kinsmen juveniles were comprised of 20 players. Molly Hogan, wife of the late Charlie Hogan, and David MacFarlane, son of the late Harry MacFarlane, raised the team’s banner.

The 1946-47 Kinsmen midgets featured a compliment of 18 team members. Bill Dickie, son of the late Harry Dickie, and Sandra Hickey, granddaughter of the late Heath Warren, unveiled the banner.

The 1949-50 Kinsmen midgets featured 19 team members. Team member Ron MacArthur and Shayne Hogan, son of the late Jim Hogan, raised the banner.


Heritage committee

The banner raising ceremony was organized by a sports heritage committee, which was formed in May 2011 to assist in recognizing memorable sports moments, teams and individuals at Credit Union Place and Queen Elizabeth Park.

Paul Power is the chairman and Marcia Whalen is the secretary. Committee members are Roger Ahern, Paul H. Schurman and Wayne Wright. Ex-officio members are Coun. Peter Holman and Coun. Jim Steele.



The Teams


Rosters for Summerside

teams recently honoured:


Summerside Kinsmen Juveniles

1945-46 Maritime Champions

Late Frank Dalziel, late Bev Gay, late Garth Gay, late Aubrey Gallant, late Charles Hogan, Lowell Huestis, late Alan Lecky, late Gordon MacKay, Bill MacLean, late Neil MacLeod, Ivan MacLellan, late Dillon McNally, late Harry MacFarlane, D R Morrison, late Robert Murphy, late Frank Oatway, late Elmer Offer, late Jim Saunders Jr., late Laurie (Toey) Richards and late Carl Woodside.


Summerside Kinsmen Midgets

1946-47 Maritime Champions

Parker Crockett, late Dick Deighan, late Ernie Deighan Jr., late Mark Delaney, late Harry Dickie, Roy (Chick) Gallant, late Bob Gay, late Bennie Grady, late Dave Morrison, late Clayton Perry, late Lloyd Richards, Layton Schurman, late George (Joey) Schurman, Don Simmons, Bill Stewart, Howard Waite Jr., late Heath Warren and Jack Wedge.


Summerside Kinsmen Midgets

1949-50 Maritime Champions

Late Leroy Clow, late Mel Campbell, late Eldon Champion, Lee Cooke, Ed Dalton, Don Darby, late Everett Gallant, Colin (Coke) Grady, late Jim Harris, Vance Harris, late Jim Hogan, late Donald (Dee) Lefurgy, Ron MacArthur, late Clive Macdonald, late Balfor MacKay Jr., Reg Phillips, Art Sonier, late Neil Walker and Richard Wedge.