MacArthur, Boutilier named Hockey P.E.I.'s players of the year

Published on June 27, 2014
Brodie MacArthur, white jersey, of the Summerside Capitals gets a shot away on Charlottetown Abbies goaltender Ava Boutilier, who is supported by an unidentified defenceman. The action took place during Game 3 of the P.E.I. Irving Oil Bantam AAA Hockey League championship series at Credit Union Place in March.
Jason Simmonds/Journal Pioneer

CHARLOTTETOWN – A pair of bantam AAA players were introduced as Hockey P.E.I.’s players of the year on Thursday night.

Forward Brodie MacArthur of the Summerside Capitals took the male honour, and goaltender Ava Boutilier was recognized as the female player of the year.

MacArthur recorded a P.E.I. Irving Oil Bantam AAA Hockey League-leading 83 points – 34 goals and 49 assists – in 30 regular-season games in helping the Caps to a first-place finish.

Boutilier backstopped the Charlottetown Abbies to the league playoff championship while posting a 10-4-4 (won-lost-tied) record in 20 games. She had a sparkling 2.00 goals-against average and three shutouts.


Big night for Regals

It was a big night for the Alberton-based Western Regals, who took home two major awards. The Regals were chosen as team of the year and head coach Brett Corcoran was announced as coach of the year.

The Regals’s 2013-14 resumé includes a first-place finish in the P.E.I. Midget AAA Hockey League regular season, a playoff championship and an Atlantic minor midget AAA title.

The Regals posted a 21-4-5 (won-lost-tied) regular-season mark and went 6-2-1 (won-lost-overtime loss) in the league playoffs.


Other awards

Following is a list of other awards:

Life membership – Wayne MacDougall, Stratford.

President’s award – Francis Morrissey, Tignish Minor Hockey Association.

Jim Stirling Memorial scholarship (BF Lorenzetti) – Hannah Gormley, Kings County Kings midget AAA.

Hockey P.E.I. scholastic award – Ben Keefe, Mid-Isle Matrix midget AAA.

Volunteer of the year – Tony Cummiskey (Charlottetown).

Administrator of the year – Tammy Callaghan (Sherwood Minor Hockey Association).

Official of the year – Aaron Coffin (Roseneath).

Hockey development council association award  – Shane Hamill (Southside Minor Hockey Association).

Hockey development council branch award – Charla Currie.