S’side hosting 10-team peewee AAA baseball tournament

Play begins Friday afternoon

Published on July 9, 2014
Head coach Dale MacDougall, kneeing talks to his players after the Summerside Chevys won the recent Bedford Days tournament in Bedford, N.S. The Chevys will host a 10-team tournament this weekend.
Submitted photo

SUMMERSIDE – Many of top peewee-aged baseball players from across the Maritimes will be in Summerside this weekend.

The Summerside and Area Baseball Association (SABA) will host a 10-team tournament at Queen Elizabeth Park.

Play will begin Friday at 3 p.m., and continue through to the championship game on Sunday at 12:30 p.m. Games will be played on the Gordie Arsenault Field and Very Important Volunteer Field.

Five Prince Edward Island teams – the host Summerside Chevys, Charlottetown Royals, Cornwall Cougars, Richmond Red Sox and Sherwood Knights – will be joined by five of the top teams from Nova Scotia and New Brunswick. The off-Island entries include perennial powerhouses Fredericton Royals, Dartmouth Arrows, Halifax, Tri-County and Dieppe.

Each team will play three round-robin games, and the top four will advance to Sunday morning’s semifinals.

The tournament will give the Chevys and the other Island entries a measuring stick for the second half of the P.E.I. Peewee AAA Baseball League schedule, provincial playoffs and the season-ending Atlantic championship to be hosted by Charlottetown.


Summerside peewee AAA tournament schedule:

Friday, July 11

3 p.m. – Cornwall vs. Richmond.

5:30 p.m. – Summerside vs. Dartmouth; Fredericton vs. Tri-County.

8 p.m. – Dieppe vs. Sherwood; Charlottetown vs. Halifax.

Saturday, July 12

10 a.m. – Richmond vs. Dartmouth; Cornwall vs. Tri-County.

12:30 p.m. – Fredericton vs. Halifax; Summerside vs. Dieppe.

3 p.m. – Charlottetown vs. Sherwood; Cornwall vs. Dartmouth.

5:30 p.m. – Summerside vs. Tri-County; Richmond vs. Dieppe.

8 p.m. – Charlottetown vs. Fredericton; Sherwood vs. Halifax.

Sunday, July 13

10 a.m. – Semifinals: first-place team vs. fourth-place team; second-place team vs. third-place team.

12:30 p.m. – Championship game.

Note: all games will be played at Queen Elizabeth Park.