Gavin, Miller claim Mill River Golf Association club titles

Eric McCarthy
Published on August 12, 2014
Mill River Golf Club president Mark Roberts, left, presents Myrna Miller with the Mill River ladies club championship trophy while Tyson Gavin, second right, accepts the men’s club championship trophy from club president Geoffrey Irving.
Eric McCarthy/Journal Pioneer

WOODSTOCK – Tyson Gavin needed a special exemption to play in the Mill River Golf Course’s annual club championship last weekend, and he made the most of the opportunity.

Gavin fired rounds of 74 and 69 for a 143 total in winning the A Division championship by three strokes over Jason Campbell, who carded back-to-back 73s to finish at 146.

The Mill River Golf Association allows its junior champion to play in the club championship, but Gavin was away at nationals when the course held its junior championship.

The association granted the 17-year-old an exemption because the national event prevented him from participating in the club’s junior championship.

While his 69 score was two strokes off his best-ever round at Mill River, Gavin said it still holds up as his best tournament round.

The 68 golfers – 58 men and eight women – encountered wind and light drizzle both days of the championship, but Gavin said the elements didn’t seem to affect play.

Since rejoining the Mill River Golf Association last year, Myrna Miller now has two ladies club championship titles to add to the six or seven she earned there in the 1990s.

Miller fired rounds of 84 and 82 for a 166 score and a three-stroke victory.


Mill River Golf Course

club championships results:

Men’s A Division

Low Gross

Tyson Gavin 74-69–143

Jason Campbell 73-73–146

Martin O’Brien 75-75–150

Kyle Fraser 81-71–152

Low Net

Adam Gallant 71-71–142

Rodney Arsenault 71-72–143

Jim MacIntyre 72-71 –143

Jamie Jeffery 72-73–145

Women’s A Division

Low Gross

Myrna Miller 84-82–146

Low net

Paula Buote 79-70–149

Women’s B Division

Low Gross

Frances Ellsworth 93-100–193

Low Net

Sharon Jones 70-80–150

Men’s B Division

Low Gross

Barry Fennessey 82-79–161

Tyson McNeill 84-83–167

Raymond Gaudette 87-81–168

Ryan LeClair 91-83–174

Low Net

Bruce Erickson 70-75–145

Dave Clarke 70-79–149

Gordie Poirier 75-76–151

Donald Waite 77-76–153

Men’s C Division

Low Gross

Leigh McKenna 89-86–175

Phil LeClair 92-89–178

Glen Hardy 89-89–178

Russell Jones 85-98–183

Low Net

Bill Millman 72-73–145

Keir Dunn 70-79–149

Dylan Millman 80-71–151

Rob Terweeme 80-71–151

Closest-To-The-Hole Awards


No. 5 – Sharon Jones and Myrna Miller.


Hole 3 – Fred McElhiney.

Hole 11 – Kenny Fraser.

Hole 17 – Barry Fennessey.