Pro Stock Tour makes only visit to P.E.I.

Parts for Trucks 100 scheduled for Saturday night

Published on July 31, 2014

HALIFAX – There will be strong Prince Edward Island representation in the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour’s only visit to the province on Saturday.

Ten Island drivers are expected to start in the Parts for Trucks 100 at Oyster Bed Speedway. This is the seventh of 12 events for the Maritime-based touring series.

Qualifying gets underway with Atlantic Tiltload time trials at 5:10 p.m., and racing will begin at 6 p.m.

Island drivers expected to start are Robbie MacLean (01) of Winsloe; Jonathan Hicken (5) of Brudenell; Kent Vincent (8) of Westmoreland; Terry Dougay (14) of Albany; Darren MacKinnon (18) of Charlottetown; Joel Hickox (22) of Cornwall; Greg Proude (29) of Springvale; Robbie McEwen (40) of Sherwood; Chris Hughes (63) of Brackley Beach, and Dylan Gosbee (91) of Cornwall.

John Flemming of Halifax, N.S., won this race last year and leads the current point standings with a 16-marker lead over Shawn Tucker of Fredericton, N.B. Shawn Turple of Enfield, N.S., is still in the championship chase holding down the third spot, followed by 2013 Exide rookie of the year Dylan Blenkhorn of Truro, N.S., and Proude, who round out the top five respectively.

Top-10 positions

Four Island drivers currently hold top-10 positions in the chase for the Parts for Trucks championship. Proude leads the way in fifth spot, but is followed closely by Hicken in sixth. Hicken is the only Island driver with a win this season, taking home the checkered flag back in May at Petty International Raceway. 

MacKinnon is currently eighth in points, Vincent is 10th and Dougay sits in 12th position.

All five of these drivers know how to get it done on their home track, and all will be looking to impress at the Parts for Trucks 100.

Also joining the field will be a stable of part-time Island drivers hoping to run well on home turf. Hughes returns to the Parts for Trucks Pro Stock Tour in the Big Poppas Motorsports No. 63 car.

Hughes is one of the most successful drivers in series history, recording 42 top-10 finishes in his career, but is still chasing that elusive first victory.

Gosbee (is a feature winner on the series in 2013 while MacLean, Hickox and MacEwen will all be in search of their first tour victory. All five have vast racing resumés in the weekly classes at Oyster Bed Speedway, and will look to translate that experience into the Parts for Trucks 100.

Tickets will be available at the gate on race day (cash only).

Expected Entries

Expected entry list for

Parts for Trucks 100:

0 – Shawn Turple, Enfield, N.S.

01 – Robbie MacLean, Winsloe

5 – Jonathan Hicken, Brudenell

8 - Kent Vincent, Westmoreland

14 – Terry Dougay, Albany

18 – Darren Mackinnon, Charlottetown

21 – Shawn Pierce, Bridgewater, N.S.

22 – Joel Hickox, Cornwall

29 – Greg Proude, Springvale

32 – Sarah McKay, Quispamsis, N.B.

40 – Robbie McEwen, Sherwood

52 – Shawn Tucker, Fredericton, N.B.

53 – Cole Butcher, Porter’s Lake, N.S.

63 – Chris Hughes, Brackley Beach

67 – Dylan Blenkhorn, Truro, N.S.

88 – George Koszkulics, New Glasgow, N.S.

91 – Dylan Gosbee, Cornwall

97 - John Flemming, Halifax, N.S.

99 - Craig Slaunwhite, Terence Bay, N.S.

Note: Entry list subject to change without notice.