Hugh A. Campbell Memorial Five-Mile Road Race goes Aug. 6

Published on July 29, 2014
Runners participate in the inaugural Hugh A. Campbell Five-Mile Road Race last year.
Jason Simmonds/Journal Pioneer

GRAHAMS ROAD – A community-minded, inventive and respected individual will be remembered here on Wednesday, Aug. 6.

That is when the second annual Hugh A. Campbell Memorial Five-Mile Road Race will be held.

Campbell, who was born in 1896 and passed away in 1956, ran in the early 1920s and from 1930 to 1934.

A life-long resident of Grahams Road, Campbell was a progressive farmer and was active in the realm of sports as a promoter and participant, with a special interest in track and field. Competing in this phase of the sport, Campbell was a consummate competitor in the five-mile distance.

In 1932, in Charlottetown, Campbell won the Labour Day five-mile event for the third consecutive year, and was presented with the Halifax Herald trophy.

That same evening he ran the Kelly and McInnis-sponsored 10-mile marathon, and finished fifth to potential Olympian Roy Oliver from Thorburn, N.S.  

In 1934, at 38 years of age, Campbell finished second in his last five-mile competitive race in Charlottetown.


Hockey supporter

Campbell enthusiastically supported hockey in the Grahams Road area, and donated a trophy to a Kensington-based hockey league. In addition, he donated land for the building of the local school, which is currently the Prince Edward Masonic Lodge No. 14.

Campbell helped build his local church in New London, and constructed a water wheel that produced light for a 50-watt bulb in the kitchen of his farmhouse.

In the 1940s, he constructed a hydraulic ram that was used to drive water from a large spring well up to the barn for the cattle.  

Campbell and his wife Jessie raised eight children on their Grahams Road farm.



The Facts


Hugh A. Campbell

Five-Mile Road Race:


The race will be held on Wednesday, Aug. 6.


Registration begins at race sponsor Prince Edward Masonic Lodge on Graham’s Road at 4:45 p.m., with the race getting underway at 6 p.m.


All registration fees will be donated to the Shriners’ Hospital for Children.


There will be awards and refreshments at the Lodge following the race.


Last years’ winners of the event were Scott Clark (30:58) of Summerside and Jennie Orr (37:29) of Mayfield, P.E.I.