Taekwondo Association of P.E.I. recognizes athletes, volunteers

Published on May 8, 2014

CHARLOTTETOWN – The Taekwondo Association of P.E.I. recently recognized its athletes and volunteers during its annual awards presentations at the Hillsborough Park Community Centre.

The junior female athlete award was presented to Hannah Ives, who had a big year competing nationally at the Taekwondo Canada junior nationals world qualifier and Youth Olympic Games, and, internationally, at the Canadian Open.

In addition to competing at a number of regional competitions, she was invited to attend a number of off-Island camps, including one hosted by Taekwondo Canada’s national head coach.

Junior male winner Cole Scantlebury has been chasing a number of regional tournaments this year with great success, almost always finishing first or second.

In February, he competed at his first international tournament, the Canada Open, fighting very well against an opponent from the United States.

Senior female award winner Tammy Turner had a big year, competing at regional tournaments both on and off-Island, and winning a number of times against opponents in the Ultra Division.

Turner has been instrumental in leveraging her current experience to help younger athletes in the high-performance program.

Mark Llewellyn, the senior male athlete of the year,  has also been busy competing in regional tournaments, including matches in Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and P.E.I.

Llewellyn has been a great help taking what he has learned, and helping the younger students training at Lainey’s Taekwondo in Montague.

In addition to the athlete awards, Darcy Rodd was named administrator of the year, Harvey Mitchell was selected as top official and Master Mike Ives was the association’s coach of the year.

The association also presented the prestigious Chong Lee Cup to those individuals who demonstrated effort in matches at the provincial tournament. Receiving the awards this year, directly from Grand Master Chong Lee, were Ashlyn Carpenter, Isaac McCardle, Tammy Turner, and Ian Handrahan.