Storm named Ringette P.E.I.’s team of the year

Published on May 16, 2014
The Summerside Storm under-12 squad was recently named the Ringette P.E.I. team of the year at the provincial association’s annual general meeting and awards ceremon.
Submitted photo

SUMMERSIDE – The Summerside Storm was named team of the year at the recent Ringette P.E.I. annual general meeting and awards ceremony.

This is the first time a Summerside-based team has won the award.

“We were very surprised yet quite excited when they read out our name,” said Tara O’Brien, an assistant coach with the team. “The girls gave a great effort all season long, and performed really well on the ice and represented our team with class off the ice as well.”

The Storm finished the season with 14 wins, one loss and five ties, and it was the first time a Summerside team had a winning record at the older age groups. The team featured a strong offensive attack, led the league in scoring and enjoyed great goaltending from Chloe MacCormack and Janessa Veniot.

The team was comprised of 12 girls, including five new to the sport.

“We had great contribution from our returning players during the first part of the season, and then the new players really started to contribute during the second half,” said Storm assistant coach Derek Thompson. “By the end of the season, the team was playing really well as a group.”

The Storm entered the playoffs as the second seed, won the first round of the playoffs and then met the eventual provincial champions, the Charlottetown Fast and Furious, in Round 2. After winning the first game of the best-of-three series, the Storm lost the next two games by very close scores.

The Ringette P.E.I. annual general meeting capped off a great year for the Summerside organization, which included an increase in the number of girls playing the sport. With a strong foundation, the association is looking forward to welcoming more girls to the sport next season.

Other Summerside award winners at the awards ceremony were O’Brien, volunteer of the year, and Francois Caron, coach of the year. Caron coached the Storm’s under-12 team.