Silver Fox plays host to 39th Annual Dow AgroSciences and Bayer CropScience Agricultural Curling Fun Spiel

Published on February 3, 2014

SUMMERSIDE - The 39th Dow ArgoSciences and Bayer CropScience Agricultural Curling Fun Spiel attracted 38 teams and more than 160 participants to the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club Jan. 31 and Feb. 1.

The "A" event winning team was the Seed Rite team, skipped by Darren Peters, third David Francis, second Brett Francis, and lead Ron Nicholson. "A" runner-up was the PEI Agromart team with skip Elden Kilbride, third Spike Martin, second Liz Maynard and lead Chris Reaman.

"B" event was won by The Beef Eaters with skip Ernie Mutch, third Julie Mutch, second Derek Weeks and lead Steven Mutch. Runner-up in "B" event were the Malpeque Bay Credit Union team, skip Leith Murray, mate Mark Leclair, second Norma Schurman and lead Ralph Sonier.

"C" event was won by the Raymond Thomson team with skip Raymond Thomson, third Wayne Gardiner, second Walter Andrews and lead Louise Andrews. "C" Runner-up the Arlington Farms team with ship Bryan Maynard, third Adam Ballum, second Eddie Gillis and lead Robbie Williams.

"D" event was won by West Isle Enterprises shipped by Stacy MacWilliams, third Rodney MacWilliams, second Jarrett Gorrill and lead Cindy Gorrill. Runner-up was the Monaghan Farms team skipped by Thomas Hamill, third Hugh John McIver, second Steven Hamill and lead Peter Waugh.

"E" event winner was the Drake Produce team shipped by Leslie Drake, third Randy Drake, second Patrick Drake and lead Ian Drake. "E" Runner-up the Hickey Farms team skipped by Gary Hickey, third Tim Thompson, second Sterling Murphy and lead John Warren.

"F" event was won by Brenntag Canada Inc team skipped by Matt Waddell, third Aiden McIver, second Randy Steele and lead George Trainer. "F" Runner-up the HJV Equipment team skipped by Cody Corbett, third Blair Cobb, second Adam Thomas and lead Sean Mulligan.

The Travel Store vouchers were won by Darren Peters and David Harris. The three "555" Motor-Home Dinner Draw tickets were won by Brett Francis, Gerald Dykerman and Paul MacCauley.

For the second year a "draw to the button" contest attracted 100 contestants who signed up for the elimination event which was to throw the curling stone without the aid of sweepers or anyone in the house and to qualify they had to touch any part of the 18 inch circle.

Those who qualified were: Doug Waugh, Les Hardy, Wayne Gardiner, Louise Andrews, Hank Kamphuis and Ian MacMillian. It was Hank Kamphuis of the Brookfield Gardens team that hit the button and took home the $1,000 cash prize.

The 40th Annual event is scheduled for Feb. 6 and 7 at the Silver Fox.