Huge weekend for squash at Mill River

West Prince players take top honours

Published on January 28, 2014

MILL RIVER – Two West Prince players took top honours in what Squash P.E.I. is terming another hugely successful tournament in West Prince.

Some 80 players from around the Maritimes descended on the Rodd Mill River Resort over the weekend for the Mill River Invitational.

"Every year, this is a great weekend for squash and for West Prince," said Squash P.E.I. president Emily Brown. "Ninety-five-per-cent of the players were from outside the area, and many brought their families for the weekend, so that meant a lot of people staying at the resort, spending money and helping to grow squash in western P.E.I."

It turned out to be a great weekend on the court for O'Leary natives and longtime friends Mike Buchanan and Lyndon Oulton, who came out on top in men's A and B divisions, respectively.  

Buchanan has long been P.E.I.'s top-ranked player, and one of the best in Atlantic Canada, and has been a great ambassador for the sport in West Prince and around the province.

With Oulton's win, he earned the right to join the highest level of squash in the region - men's A.  

"It was a phenomenal weekend for those guys, as well as many of our junior players," said Brown. "They finished near the top in a number of divisions, and continue to stand out as some of the top junior players in the country."



Mill River Invitational

squash tournament results:


Men's A

Winner - Mike Buchanan.

Runner-up - Jean-Michel Leblanc.

Consolation - Connor Jinks.


Men's B

Winner: Lyndon Oulton.

Runner-up: Nathan Phillips.

Consolation: Hugh Mackay.


Women's B

Winner: Megan Nearing.

Runner-up: Jen Tucker.

Consolation: Carrie Terry.


Men's C

Winner: Kristian Lethbridge-Hall.

Runner up: Kieran Hennessey.

Consolation: Stephen Phillips.


Women's C

Winner: Julie Dugandzic.

Runner-up: Gail Lethbridge.

Consolation: Kady Brown.


Men's D:

Winner: Douglas Kosciukiewicz.

Runner-up: Liam Jinks.

Consolation: Matt Cheeseman.



Winner: Gord Lawlor.

Runner-up: Scott Hamill.