New Glasgow native takes top spot at P.E.I. Marathon

Kris Taylor finishes first overall while Cornwall's Jen Nicholson is the top female

Colin MacLean
Published on October 21, 2013

Charlottetown - There's a first time for everything. This time, New Glasgow native Kris Taylor won the P.E.I. Marathon.

Taylor, who finished fourth in last year's Marathon, crossed the finish line first in the 2013 edition in a time of 2:41:28 under near balmy conditions Sunday in Charlottetown.

Jason Bigonia of Walpole, Me., took second (2:44:26) and two-time defending champ Mike MacKinnon of Miscouche placed third (2:48:57).

"I don't know where the last five K came from. I was ready to pack it in at 37 kilometres," said Taylor, who led the race wire-to-wire. "I started aggressively, but the (headwind) was not in my plans. (Toward the end) I just wasn't sure where the (rest of the pack) was. You have to watch that Mike MacKinnon. He's got stamina and he's fast."

Cornwall's Jen Nicholson finished as the top women's full marathoner in 3:00:15, good for eight overall.

Rhonda Loo of Lake Newall, Alta., who won the 2010 Marathon, finished a close second behind Nicholson in 3:01:35.

Helga Reisch-MacNeill of Kensington, the 2012 female winner, placed third (3:20:00).

Nicholson holds female course records in the full marathon (2:53:22, 2009) and half-marathon (1:23:19, 2012), but Sunday she settled for a slower time during her third Island Marathon title.

"It was perfect conditions. It was not my best time and I didn't break any records or anything, but it was a race and I ran to my fitness level," Nicholson said.

"It was really challenging. I'm really happy."

Andrew Roberts of Summerside won the half-marathon (1:20:29) while Joanne Reid of Stanley Bridge was the top female in the half-marathon (1:27:20) and fifth overall.

Tracey MacMillan of Oromocto, N.B., won the half-marathon walk in 2:41:59.

Stanley Chaisson of Charlottetown was the 10K winner in a new course record time of :32:39, besting the old mark of :34:00 set by Peter Beasley in 2004. Top female was Kristy Newson of Stratford (:40:21).

The 5K title went to Andrew Hanlon of Bedford, N.S., while third-place finisher Tori Fitzpatrick of Suffolk set a new female 5K course record of :19:09. The old mark was :21:19 set last year.

The Charlottetown Police won the corporate relay (3:08:18).

Eric Payne won the inaugural 1K wheelchair event in :8:14 followed by Ryan Bolger (:8:21) and James Aylward (:8:40) in second and third pace, respectively.

Karen Laverty of Brackley won the 10K walk (1:11:59, new course record) while Brian Chappell of Summerside won the 5K walk in a new course record of :39:06.

As for what comes after, Nicholson, an experienced hand at this marathon thing, had her plans set.

"A nap and some wine. And spend time with my family."