Junior Abbies fold

Five teams to finish IJHL season

Staff ~ The Journal Pioneer newsroom@journalpioneer.com
Published on January 8, 2013
Charlottetown Abbies
Submitted photo

CHARLOTTETOWN – The Island Junior Hockey League is now down to five teams.

The junior B league announced in a media release early Tuesday morning that the Charlottetown Abbies had folded due to “a lack of available players” with a month and a half remaining in the regular season.

“The team has had several injuries and players leaving for work commitments this season, which has depleted their active roster,” continued the media release.

The league will finish the season with five teams – Sherwood A&S Scrap Metal Abbies, Kensington Moase Plumbing and Heating Vipers, Arsenault’s Fish Mart Western Red Wings, Holland College Hurricanes and Montague Maniacs.

For the remaining teams, each team’s first home and away game against the Abbies will continue to count in the team standings and player statistics. All additional games against Charlottetown have been deleted. As a result, each team will have 26 games count towards the standings.

The playoff format remains unchanged as the fourth- and fifth-place teams will meet in a best-of-five “mini” quarter-final series. That will be followed by best-of-seven semifinals and final.

The league held a dispersal draft of Abbies’ players on Monday night.

The Abbies were in last place with a 5-13-0 (won-lost-overtime/shootout losses) record.


Dispersal draft

Dispersal draft of Charlottetown players:

Western Red Wings – Kurt Willis, Morgan Walker and Ben Buchanan.

Kensington Vipers – Jake McKenna, Lal Hennessey and Willie McGuigan.

Sherwood Falcons – Parker Diamond, Ryan McGuigan, Alex Abbott and Rob MacMillan.

Holland College Hurricanes – Patrick Cullen, Derrick MacDonald, Devin Lundrigan, Connor Dillon and Dylan McQuaid.

Montague Maniacs – Logan Hughes, Jordan Gallant and Matt Myers.