Vipers eliminated from Don Johnson Memorial Cup after OT loss

Jason Simmonds
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

PORT HAWKESBURY, N.S. – The Kensington Moase Plumbing and Heating Vipers have been eliminated from the Don Johnson Cup Memorial Cup.

ijhl vipers logo 2013-14

The Sackville Blazers overcame 2-0, 3-1, 4-2 and 5-4 deficits to defeat the Vipers 6-5 in overtime in one of two semifinals on Saturday.

Andrew Skinner scored the winning goal on a power play early in the first overtime period in a rematch of last year’s championship game, which was won by the Vipers in Moncton, N.B.

At the Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre, Brett Arthur (2), Zachary Thomas (1-2), Shane Boudreau and Kyle MacDonald scored regulation-time goals for the Blazers.

Zen Hamil (2-1), Spencer McAllister (1-1), Adam Wight and Jordan Mayhew scored for the Vipers.

Kensington led 3-1 after the opening period, and the teams went into the second intermission tied 4-4.

Winning goaltender was Jonathan Boutin, and Grant Grady was in goal for the Vipers.

The Blazers will take on the Casselman Vikings of Ontario in Sunday afternoon’s final of the Eastern Canadian junior B hockey championship tournament.

See Monday’s Journal Pioneer for complete coverage.

Geographic location: Moncton, Port Hawkesbury Civic Centre, Ontario

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page