Buchanan earns four awards

Jason Simmonds
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Caps announce recipients for 2013-14 season

SUMMERSIDE – Jordan Buchanan was the big winner of this year’s Summerside Western Capitals team awards.

Summerside Western Capitals

The awards dinner was cancelled due to inclement weather, and was unable to be rescheduled due to time restraints with players returning home for the off-season and bad weather.

The award recipients were given their trophies during exit interviews.

Buchanan was handed four awards for his accomplishments on and off the ice. Buchanan received the Christopher Perry Memorial Fan Choice award. After being awarded the captaincy in November, the Summerside minor hockey graduate quickly grew into a fan favourite for his hard work and style of play.

On many nights the captain was tasked with shutting down the opposing teams top offensive players, and in doing so was awarded the best defensive forward award.

He was also received the mayor’s award, and the Lloyd Cannon Memorial award for academic excellence.

Kensington native Thomas Stavert was named regular season most valuable player after finishing with 56 points, including 33 goals which was the second most goals in the league.

Defenceman Cavan Fitzgerald and forward Alex Bradley shared the top rookie award. The team dressed 15 freshmen during the 2013-14 MHL (Maritime Junior Hockey League) season..

Bradley topped all rookie skaters with 55 points and was second in team scoring. Fitzgerald led all rookie defenceman in scoring with 33 points in the regular season, and recorded a team-high seven points in the playoffs.

Fitzgerald also was co-winner of the top defenceman award along with Joey Colatarci.


List of Summerside

Western Capitals’ awards:

MVP sponsored by Brothers 2 - Thomas Stavert.

Playoff MVP - Simon-Pier Chamberland.

Leading Scorer - Thomas Stavert.

Community enrichment award - Simon-Pier Chamberland.

Fan's choice award - Jordan Buchanan.

Dr. W. A. Mackay memorial award for perseverance and dedication - Brad Power.

Most sportsmanlike player sponsored by PG Fire and Safety - Mitch Henneberry.

Top defenceman sponsored by Greco Pizza - Cavan Fitzgerald and Joey Colatarci.

Most improved player sponsored by Dan's Muffler Signs and Decals - Isaac Jay.

Best defensive forward - Jordan Buchanan.

Rookie of the year sponsored by PC Trophy - Cavan Fitzgerald, Alex Bradley.

Volunteer of the year sponsored by Roberts Petro-Canada - Dallas Salwonchuk.

Sixth man award in memory of Darlene Craig - Blake Millman.

Lloyd Cannon memorial award for academic excellence - Jordan Buchanan.

Mayor's award sponsored by Mayor Basil Stewart - Jordan Buchanan.

Organizations: Maritime Junior Hockey League, Brothers 2, PC Trophy Roberts Petro-Canada

Geographic location: Kensington, Summerside Western

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page