Under-18 curling final on Sunday afternoon

Journal Pioneer staff
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

CHARLOTTETOWN – The O’Connor Glass provincial under-18 curling championships wrap up at the Charlottetown Curling Complex on Sunday.

The semifinals were scheduled for 9:30 a.m., and the final will go at 2 p.m.

Tyler Smith and his Montague Curling Club team, and defending women’s champion Jenny McLean from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside, finished round-robin play in first place with 4-1 and 5-0 (won-lost) records, respectively, and have earned byes to the finals.

Smith, with the help of a five-point seventh end, scored a 10-4 win over the Leslie Noye rink from the Western Community Curling Club in Alberton on Saturday morning, and then beat Devin Schut of Cornwall 8-3 on Saturday evening to finish the round robin at 4-1, tied with Alex MacFadyen of the Silver Fox. Smith was awarded first place based on his 8-5 win over MacFadyen in their round-robin encounter. Noye was third at 3-2.

MacFadyen and Noye were to meet in the semifinal.

Justin Campbell from the Fox, and Spencer Stetson from Cornwall finished at 2-3 while Schut did not manage to pick up a win.

McLean finished off her perfect 5-0 round-robin record with an 8-3 win over Charlottetown’s Lauren Moerike on Saturday morning to clinch first place. Meghan Ching of Cornwall and Kaleigh MacKay from the Crapaud Community and Montague clubs both had 3-2 records. Ching was awarded second place because she beat MacKay 6-4 the round robin.

Ching and MacKay met in the semifinal on Sunday morning.

Moerike finished play at 2-3 while Jessica Watts of Cornwall and Karlie Lewis of Western Community both went 1-4.

Organizations: Silver Fox, Montague Curling Club, Western Community Curling Club Crapaud Community

Geographic location: Cornwall, Summerside, Alberton Charlottetown

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page