Jones wins Players’ Championship

Jason Simmonds
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

SUMMERSIDE – The Jennifer Jones rink won the 2014 Players’ Championship on Sunday afternoon.

From left, skip Jennifer Jones, third stone Kaitlyn Lawes, second stone Jill Officer and lead Dawn McEwen posed with the championship trophy for the Players’ Championship.

Olympic gold-medallists Jones, third stone Kaitlyn Lawes, second stone Jill Officer and lead Dawn McEwen defeated the Canadian women’s champion Rachel Homan 5-2 in the championship game that concluded at Eastlink Arena early Sunday afternoon.

The Players’ Championship is the Grand Slam of Curling’s final event of the season, and featured the top 12 men’s and women’s teams on the World Curling Tour. Each division competed for $100,000 in purse money.

Overall, the Jones rink took home $36,000. They received the first-place prize of 19,000, $1,500 for each of the rink’s three round-robin wins for $4,500 and $12,500 in bonus money.

Homan received $24,000 -- $12,000 runner-up prize, $4,500 in round-robin wins and $7,500 because of the bonus for points. Homan, who won the Masters in November, had an opportunity to win a $100,000 bonus for sweeping the two women’s Grand Slam events.


Clutch shots

In the final, Jones came up with two clutch shots in the final two ends. She hit a double takeout in the seventh end to get her rink out of trouble and force Homan to blank, and in the eighth end she hit a hit-and-roll that changed the complexion of the end and led to a steal of one.

The men’s final between Brad Jacobs and Kevin Martin will be played on Sunday at 5 p.m.

Be sure to check back later for an update on the men’s final, and check out Monday’s Journal Pioneer for complete coverage.

Organizations: World Curling Tour

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page