MacFadyen, Berry rinks capture Maritime masters curling titles

Journal Pioneer staff
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

CORNWALL – P.E.I.’s two reigning champions came out the winners at the Maritime masters curling championships at the Cornwall Curling Club on Sunday.

The Ted MacFadyen rink from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside went undefeated with a 5-0 (won-lost) round-robin record to win the men’s title. Bill Hope substituted for MacFadyen after the first two draws. Other members of the rink, which won the P.E.I. masters championship this year, are Lou Nowlan, Earle Proude and Alan Montgomery.

MacFadyen, Nowlan and Proude are also P.E.I. senior champs.

Men’s runners-up were the Milt Larsen foursome from the Mayflower Curling Club in Halifax. Their only loss in the event came to MacFadyen – 8-6. Playing with Larsen were Jim Russell, Fred Lutes and Ross Woodward.

The Shirley Berry rink from the host Cornwall Club won the women’s championship. Berry, Sandy Hope, Arleen Harris and Evelyn Rogerson posted a 4-1 record. Their one loss came at the hands of the runner-up team, the Judy Burgess rink of Truro, by a 7-6 score. Burgess finished at 3-2.

Helen Brightman, Karen Hennigar and Penny Neily round out the Burgess rink.

Defending-champion Isabel Yeamans and her rink from the Capital Winter Club in Fredericton, N.B., also finished at 3-2, but lost 8-1 to Burgess in the round robin.

New Brunswick was only able to send one team in both the men’s and women’s divisions this year as curlers were volunteering at the world women’s curling championship in Saint John, so a third P.E.I. team was added in each division.

The masters championships featured curlers aged 60 and over.

Organizations: Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club, Mayflower Curling Club, Cornwall Club Club in Fredericton

Geographic location: Summerside, Halifax, New Brunswick Saint John

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page