Five rinks undefeated at Maritime masters curling championships

Journal Pioneer staff
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Including P.E.I.’s MacFadyen, Berry rinks

CORNWALL – Three men’s and two women’s teams remain undefeated at 2-0 (won-lost) after the opening day of round-robin play at the Maritime masters curling championships at the Cornwall Curling Club.

Six men’s and six women’s teams are taking part in the event for curlers aged 60 and over, with three teams from P.E.I., two from Nova Scotia and one from New Brunswick in each division.

On the men’s side, New Brunswick’s Rod Aubé, Nova Scotia’s Milt Larsen and P.E.I.’s Ted MacFadyen rinks remain unbeaten. Defending-champion Isabel Yeamans from Fredericton, N.B., and P.E.I. masters champ Shirley Berry are unbeaten in women’s play.

Fredericton’s Aubé recorded a 7-5 win over John Holmes from the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside, and edged Crapaud’s Brian Ellis 8-7 in an extra end.

Larsen, from the Halifax Mayflower club, downed Ellis 8-2, and beat Haylett Clarke’s New Glasgow, N.S., team 5-3. MacFadyen, from the Silver Fox, got by Clarke 6-4 and doubled Holmes 8-4 in six ends.

Yeamans blanked Diane MacKay and her Cornwall/Charlottetown rink 9-0, and beat Cornwall’s Myrna Sanderson foursome 9-6. Berry defeated Dartmouth’s Louanne Labelle rink 8-5, and edged Cornwall clubmate MacKay 6-5 in an extra end.

The biggest score of the day went to Nova Scotia’s Judy Burgess rink – a 13-1 win over LaBelle.

Round-robin action continues Saturday with women’s draws at 8:30 a.m., and 2 p.m., and men’s action at 11 a.m., and 4:30 p.m. Play wraps up on Sunday with the final men’s draw at 8:30 a.m. and the last women’s round at 11.

The teams with the best record will be declared the winners. In case of ties, teams will draw to the button to determine the winner.



Organizations: Silver Fox

Geographic location: Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Fredericton Summerside New Glasgow Charlottetown Dartmouth

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page