Provincial masters curling ch’ships begin Monday

Journal Pioneer staff
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

SUMMERSIDE – The Curl P.E.I. provincial masters curling championships begin here at the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club on Monday.

The event, featuring curlers aged 60 and over, is scheduled to conclude on Thursday, Jan. 30.

Defending champions are the Mel Bernard rink from the host club, and the Diane MacKay foursome from the Cornwall Curling Club and the Charlottetown Curling Complex. Only two members of the Bernard rink, Earle Proude and Lou Nowlan, are back this year, but MacKay is in the event with her team intact. Proude and Nowlan are curling with Ted MacFadyen’s rink from the host Silver Fox this year.

Winners and runners-up in both the men’s and the women’s divisions earn the right to compete in the Maritime masters championships at the Cornwall Curling Club from March 14 to 17.

The winning teams, or the highest-finishing men’s and women’s rinks that choose to attend, are invited to participate in the 2014 ATB Financial Canadian masters championships at the Coaldale Granite Curling Club in Coaldale Alta., from March 31 to April 6.

Play in the provincials gets underway on Monday at 10 a.m., with the eight men’s rinks playing a triple-knockout format. Four teams will qualify for a Page championship round, and the four women’s teams will play a double-knockout round, with the top team advancing to the final and the second- and third-place teams squaring off in a semifinal to determine who goes to the final.

Monday and Tuesday’s draws are at 10 a.m., and 2 p.m., with the triple-knockout and double round robin concluding on Wednesday, with draws at 9 a.m., and 12:30 p.m.

The men’s Page games go Wednesday at 4 p.m., along with a women’s tiebreaker, if needed.

The winner of the men’s Page game between the A and B qualifiers from the triple knockout will advance directly to Thursday’s 2 p.m. final, with the loser of the Page A-vs.-B game and the winner of the C-vs.-D match playing in a semifinal on Thursday at 10 a.m.

The women’s semifinal and final are also on Thursday at 10 a.m., and 2 p.m. All games in this event are eight ends.


Rosters for P.E.I. masters curling championships (skip through lead):


Paul Arsenault, Bob MacWilliams, Roy Coffin, Lew Black, Cornwall Curling Club.

Brian Ellis, Raymond Thomson, Dario Zannier, Walter Andrews, Crapaud Community Curling Club.

John Holmes, Des Arsenault, Stephen Bent, George Power, Silver Fox.

Ted MacFadyen, Lou Nowlan, Earle Proude, Alan Montgomery, Silver Fox.

Bob Maynard, Bruce Montgomery, Spike Martin, Wendall Bassett, Silver Fox.

Matt Smith, Ron Giggey, Allan Acorn, Edgar Coffin, Cornwall.

Clair Sweet, Bob Matheson, Muncey Harris, Wayne Arsenault, Maple Leaf Curling Club.

Louis Walsh, Doug Waugh, Carl Delaney, Walter Benson, Silver Fox.


Shirley Berry, Sandy Hope, Arleen Harris, Evelyn Rogerson, Cornwall Curling Club.

Gloria Clarke, Margaret Stewart, Hanny MacLeod, Elaine Hughes, Cornwall Curling Club.

Diane MacKay, Valerie MacLean, Lynn Thiele, Donna Boulter, Cornwall/Charlottetown.

Norma Sonier, Dawn MacFadyen, Norma Schurman, Leona Bernard, Silver Fox.

Opening Draw

Opening draw of P.E.I. masters curling championships:

Monday, Jan. 27

10 a.m.


Ice 1: John Holmes (Silver Fox) vs. Ted MacFadyen (Silver Fox).

Ice 2: Smith vs. Paul Arsenault (Cornwall).

Ice 3: Brian Ellis (Crapaud) vs. Clair Sweet (Maple Leaf).

Ice 4: Louis Walsh (Silver Fox) vs. Bob Maynard (Silver Fox).


Ice 5: Gloria Clarke (Cornwall) vs. Diane MacKay (Cornwall).

Ice 6: Shirley Berry (Cornwall) vs. Norma Sonier (Silver Fox).

Organizations: Silver Fox, Cornwall Curling Club, Coaldale Granite Curling Club

Geographic location: Maritime, Coaldale, Maple Leaf

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page