Smith rink off to women’s final of P.E.I. junior curling championships

Journal Pioneer staff
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

Men’s Page playoffs continue on Sunday afternoon

SUMMERSIDE – The Veronica Smith rink will get the opportunity to defend its women’s title in the Pepsi P.E.I. junior curling championships.

Undefeated defending-champion Veronica Smith has clinched a berth in the women’s final of the Pepsi P.E.I. junior curling championships at the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside.

The Cornwall Curling Club foursome will be the only team to go through the women’s round robin undefeated. Smith’s first-place finish gives her, third stone Chloe McCluskey, second stone Sabrina Smith and lead Katie Fullerton a bye to the championship game scheduled for Monday at 7 p.m.

Smith, aided by a four-point fifth end, defeated Cornwall clubmate Amanda MacLean 9-4 in Sunday morning’s draw to improve to 6-0. MacLean is now 4-1.

Smith has a bye in the final women’s round-robin draw at 2 p.m. on Sunday.

In other morning games, Kaleigh MacKay from Crapaud Community Curling Club and the Silver Fox beat Cornwall’s Meghan Ching 6-1, and Jenny McLean from the host club scored a deuce in the final end to edge Charlottetown’s Lauren Moerike 9-8.

Going into the afternoon draw, MacLean sits at 4-1, with Keen at 3-2 and MacKay at 2-3. MacLean, who beat Keen in round-robin play, has locked up second place in the championship round, with Keen and MacKay in contention for the final slot.

McLean, Moerike and Ching are at 1-4.

The matchups in the final round-robin draw are Keen vs. McLean, MacKay vs. Moerike and MacLean vs. Ching. The semifinals between the second- and third-place teams go Monday at 2 p.m.


In men’s play, the teams are set for Sunday’s 7 p.m. Page game between the A and B qualifiers.

Kyle Holland from the Charlottetown Curling Complex qualified out of the A section of the triple-knockout round on Saturday morning, with a 5-2 win over Cornwall’s Matthew MacLean.

On Sunday morning, MacLean took the B qualifier, defeating defending-champion Tyler Smith and his Montague rink by an 8-1 score. MacLean stole singles in the first two ends, and deuces in ends three and four to build a 6-0 lead.

Smith got on the board with a single in five, but two more MacLean singles in the sixth and seventh ends brought the game to an early conclusion.

The C and D winners for Sunday evening’s Page round will be determined in the 2 p.m. draw. Two host-club rinks, skipped by Alex MacFadyen and Justin Campbell, will battle for the C spot, and Leslie Noye from the Western Community Curling Club in Alberton will play Smith for the final position in the championship round.

The winner of the Page A-vs.-B game will advance directly to Monday’s 7 p.m. final, with the loser taking on the winner of the Page C-vs.-D game in the semifinal on Monday at 2 p.m.

The men’s and women’s winners will advance to the M&M Meat Shops Canadian junior curling championships in Liverpool, N.S., from Jan. 18 to 26.

Organizations: Cornwall Curling Club, Crapaud Community Curling Club, Silver Fox Western Community Curling Club

Geographic location: Cornwall, Charlottetown, Alberton Liverpool

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page