Draw set for provincial junior curling championships

Journal Pioneer staff
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

At Silver Fox in Summerside from Dec. 19 to 23

SUMMERSIDE – The draw is set for the first Curl P.E.I. provincial curling championship of the season.

The Pepsi Juniors, for curlers under age 21, has attracted 15 teams – eight men and seven women – from six of the Island’s seven dedicated curling facilities.

The Pepsi Juniors will take place at the six-sheet Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club in Summerside, with opening draw on Thursday, Dec. 19, at 7 p.m., and the finals on Monday, Dec. 23, also at 7 p.m.

Friday draws are at 1 and 7 p.m., with Saturday action at 10 a.m., and 3 p.m. Sunday’s games are listed for 9 a.m., and 2 and 7 p.m. There is a 9 a.m. timeslot on Monday in the event that a second women’s tiebreaker round is needed, followed by the semifinals at 2 and the finals at 7 p.m.

Defending champions

Defending champions are the Veronica Smith rink from the Cornwall Curling Club, and the Tyler Smith team, which also curls out of Cornwall.

Veronica is back with last year’s team intact, and Tyler has a new team this year out of Montague.

The junior men will play a triple-knockout format, which will qualify four teams for a Page championship round. The junior women will play a single-pool round robin, with the top three teams advancing to the championship round.

The winning junior men’s and women’s rinks will advance to the M&M Meat Shops Canadian junior championships in Liverpool, N.S., from Jan. 18 to 26.

Full team rosters, and the event draw are now available at PEICurling.com/juniors. End-by-end results will also be available at that same website.


Teams entered in provincial

junior curling championships:


Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club (Summerside) – Justin Campbell (third stones),

Jordan MacLean (fourth stones), Ben Gardiner and Brett Murphy. Coach: Shelley MacFadyen.

Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club – Alex MacFadyen, James Dalton, Matthew MacDonald and Parker MacFadyen. Coach: David MacFadyen.

Cornwall/Silver Fox – Matthew MacLean, Alan MacLean, Shawn Pitre and Noah O’Connor. Coach: Glen MacLean.

Western Community Curling Club – Leslie Noye, Jacob Wilkins, Dylan Vincent and Alex Ramsay. Coach: Roger Gavin.

Cornwall Curling Club – Donald DeWolfe, Avery Wells, Riley Taweel and Nick Johnson. Coach: Aleya Quilty.

Cornwall Curling Club – Devin Schut (third stones), Tyson Smith (fourth stones), Jonathan Schut and Mitchell Schut. Coach: Dario Zannier.

Charlottetown Curling Complex – Kyle Holland, Tony Nabuurs, Alex Sutherland and Taylor McInnis. Coach: Angela Hodgson.

Montague Curling Club – Tyler Smith, Brooks Roche, Dylan Lowery and Ryan Lowery. Coaches: Tammy Dewar and Kevin Smith.


Cornwall Curling Club – Meghan Ching, Rachel O’Connor, Lauren Lenentine and Breanne Burgoyne. Coach: Pat Quilty.

Cornwall Curling Club – Emily Keen, Jessica Watts, Kayla Schut and Jenny Mutch. Coach: Butch McGee.

Crapaud Curling Club/Montague Curling Club – Kaleigh MacKay, Danielle Collings, Alyssa Wright and Kaleigh Peters. Coach: A.J. Campbell.

Cornwall Curling Club – Amanda MacLean, Jane DiCarlo, Emily Gray and Aleya Quilty. Coach: Lori Robinson.

Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club – Jenny McLean, Lauren MacFadyen, Ava Whitney-Coulter and Emily Vaniderstine. Coach: Don Vickerson.

Charlottetown Curling Complex – Lauren Moerike, Ashley Gallant, Annika Kelly and Tati Kelly. Coach: Kevin Moerike.

Cornwall Curling Club – Veronica Smith, Chloe McCloskey, Sabrina Smith, and Katie Fullerton. Coaches: Bill Hope and Paul Smith.

Organizations: Silver Fox, Pepsi Juniors, Cornwall Curling Club MenSilver Fox Curling and Yacht Club

Geographic location: Summerside, Cornwall, Liverpool

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page