Slammers repeat as Volleyball P.E.I. provincial champions

Journal Pioneer staff
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

CHARLOTTETOWN – The Summerside Slammers won back-to-back Volleyball P.E.I. 14-Under Boys League provincial championships here at Holland College recently.

The Slammers swept the Charlottetown Aces 2-0 (25-17, 15-14) to claim their fourth-ever title.

“Our boys played great all night,” said Slammers head coach Dale MacDougall. 

Aces coach Jacob Smith praised his players despite the loss.

“Except for the first part of the second game of the finals, I thought our team played well,” assessed Smith. “A big congratulations to Dale MacDougall and his team on their championship.”

The five-team event culminated a spring season that featured each of the five clubs hosting a tournament to go along with the provincials. Summerside took three of the six events, the Aces won twice and the Bench Warmers finished first once.


The Charlottetown Bench Warmers needed three games to edge the Cornwall Red Mudd 2-1 in the bronze-medal match. Red Mudd started the match with a 25-19 victory, but the Bench Warmers came back to tie the match by winning the second set 25-20. Charlottetown prevailed in a back-and-forth third and deciding set 15-12.

The Slammers advanced to the final by edging the Bench Warmers 25-19 in the semifinals, and the Aces got by the Red Mudd 25-22.

The first two rounds of the playoffs were one set to 25. In the first-vs.-second quarter-finals, the Slammers crushed Red Mudd 25-9 while the Bench Warmers advanced to the semifinals by defeating the West Prince Islanders in the fourth-vs.-fifth quarter-finals 25-16.

The five teams played a full round robin of 12-minute games. The Slammers finished first with a perfect 4-0 (won-lost) record. The Red Mudd (3-1), Aces (2-2), Bench Warmers (1-3) and Islanders (0-4) followed in the standings.



Five players were named to the All-P.E.I. all-star team. They were Ethan Boyd (Slammers), Ryan Thompson (Aces), Gabe Penalver (Bench Warmers), Connor Chapman (Red Mudd) and Carter Cahill (Islanders).


Volleyball P.E.I. 14-Under Boys League provincial champions:

2014 – Summerside Slammers.

2013 – Summerside Slammers.

2012 – West Prince Islanders.

2011 – West Prince Islanders.

2010 – Confederation Skyhawks (Tier One); Confederation Skyhawks (Tier Two).

2009 – West Prince Islanders.

2008 – West Prince Islanders.

2007 – West Prince Islanders.

2006 – Summerside Slammers.

2005 – West Prince Islanders.

2004 – East Wiltshire Warriors.

2003 – East Wiltshire Warriors.

2002 – Summerside Slammers.

2001 – West Prince Islanders.

2000 – West Prince Islanders.

1999 – Kensington Crusaders.

1998 – West Prince Islanders.

Organizations: Cornwall Red Mudd 2, All-P.E.I.

Geographic location: Charlottetown

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page