Sport P.E.I. announces finalists for annual awards banquet

Journal Pioneer staff
Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

CHARLOTTETOWN – Sport P.E.I. has announced the full list of finalists who will be recognized at the annual amateur sports awards banquet here on Wednesday, April 9.

Celebrating the Island’s sporting achievements over the past year, contenders for the prestigious senior male athlete award will once again include champion sprinter Jared Connaughton, world champion paranordic biathlete Mark Arendz and team captain of Team Canada and national medal winner from softball, Jeff Ellsworth.

Heather Moyse will of course be in contention for the senior female honour for her exploits in both bobsleigh and rugby, but other athletes also enjoyed fine seasons, including world silver medal rower Emily Cameron and wrestler Veronica Keefe, who had an outstanding year both nationally and internationally.

In addition to the listed finalists, presentations will also be made to the sports organization of the year (Premier’s Award), longtime service to sport (President’s Award) and the top overall Island athlete (Lieutenant Governor’s Award).

The board of Sport P.E.I. will also determine if the prestigious Bill Halpenny Award for outstanding international performance will be presented.  

Ticket details will be announced closer to the event.

For more information contact Nick Murray at 368-4547, or go to




Award Finalists


Full list of finalists for Sport P.E.I.’s annual awards:


Bell Aliant senior male athlete of the year – Mark Arendz (paranordic biathlon), Jared Connaughton (athletics), Jeff Ellsworth (softball).


Bell Aliant senior female athlete of the year – Emily Cameron (rowing), Veronica Keefe (wrestling), Heather Moyse (bobsleigh and rugby).


Rodd Hotels and Resorts junior male athlete of the year – Carsen Campbell (biathlon), JP Stevenson (baseball), Jeremy and Joel Watts (wheelchair basketball).


Rodd Hotels and Resorts junior female athlete of the year – Quincy Beck (squash), Lorena Ellis (wrestling), Hannah Taylor (wrestling).


Intercollegiate male athlete of the year – Andrew Costa (UNB, volleyball), Cole MacMillan (UPEI, soccer and hockey), James Profit (Dalhousie, swimming).


Intercollegiate female athlete of the year – Jean Baker (SMU, rugby), Emily VanDiepen (Mount Allison, soccer and hockey), Molly Wedge (Dalhousie, swimming).


SCORE! team of the year – Holland College men’s basketball, Summerside Western Capitals (hockey), Holland College women’s soccer.


Masters athlete award – Michael Gaudet (long distance running), Ruth Stavert (stick curling), Paul Wright (cross-country skiing).


P.E.I. Mutual Insurance Company official of the year – Mike Jones (rugby), Mandy Li (taekwondo), Cliff Poirier (curling).


P.E.I. Mutual Insurance Company coach of the year – Colin MacDonald (wrestling, Canada Games), Forbes MacPherson (hockey, UPEI), Scott Morrison (basketball, Lakehead University).


ADL administrator of the year – Derek MacEwen (curling), Stephen Murray (rowing), Gordon Rogers (speed skating).




Organizations: Holland College, Team Canada, Bell Aliant Rodd Hotels Lakehead University

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page