Three teams undefeated in provincial masters

Send to a friend

Send this article to a friend.

SUMMERSIDE - Three teams remain undefeated as day one of the Curl P.E.I. provincial masters curling championships wrapped up at the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club.

Skip Shirley Berry, center, calls off sweeper Evelyn Rogerson during actions in the women’s division of Curl P.E.I. provincial masters curling championship at the Silver Fox Curling and Yacht Club. Looking on is opposing skip Gloria Clarke. The Berry rink won the game 8 to 7 in an extra end

Ted MacFadyen of the host club and Brian Ellis from the Crapaud Community Curling Club will square off Tuesday a 2 p.m. in the qualifier A category of the men’s division.

The MacFadyen rink defeated the John Holmes foursome from Summerside 6 to 4 and the Paul Arsenault rink 9 to 2.

Ellis moved on to the A qualifier defeating the Clair Sweet team from the Maple Leaf Curling Club 7 to 6 and the Louis Walsh foursome from the Silver Fox 6 to 3.

On the women’s side Shirley Berry’s Cornwall rink remain undefeated beating Norma Sonier from the Silver Fox 6 to 5 and Cornwall’s Gloria Clarke in an extra end 8 to 7.

In other women’s action, Clarke defeated Diane MacKay from the Cornwall Curling Club 9 to 4 and MacKay bounced back in her second draw to defeat Sonier 8 to 6.

In the men’s B qualifier John Holmes defeated Matt Smith 8 to 3 and Clair Sweet beat Bob Maynard 7 to 5.


Organizations: Crapaud Community Curling Club, Maple Leaf Curling Club, Cornwall Curling Club

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

Thanks for voting!

Top of page